Great Dane Pub & Brewing Co. - Fitchburg

Great Dane Pub & Brewing Co. - Fitchburg

2980 Cahill Main
Fitchburg WI 53711
608-442-9000

Visit Us

Find Us

Online Profiles
  • Citysearch
  • Facebook
  • Foursquare
  • Google Places
  • Yellow Pages
  • Zomato
Reviews
  • Sep 08, 2020 by Penny McGee

    Had a couple of beers and really enjoyed the atmosphere, it had been a long time since being there.

  • Sep 06, 2020 by Midwest Reviews

    Tasty food and drinks. The outdoor seating area has an awning which makes it possible to eat outside even while it is raining.

  • Aug 30, 2020 by Sue Hunter

    Tomato mushroom soup is fabulous!

  • Aug 20, 2020 by Jeff Audiss

    Nice get together with family 4 a meal, ate outside lovely

  • Aug 13, 2020

    test2

  • Aug 13, 2020

    test2

  • Aug 13, 2020

    Test

  • Jul 12, 2020 by Linda Garnhart

    Great food and service. Very nice outside dining... very enjoyable!

  • Jul 10, 2020 by Adam Huber

    We asked for a table and sat down, but realized that it was in the sun. We asked for a new table and we were yelled at by one of the women who worked there. She gave us so much attitude and grief over changing tables that we are never coming here ever again.

  • Jun 12, 2020 by Bryan Phinezy

    Great service, and great people. The beer options are good, and you can't go wrong with the food.

  • Mar 23, 2020 by John Ortiz

    Had a very good experience in this spot with my friend. The food was served quick and the customer service is just fantastic. Prices are reasonable.

  • Mar 23, 2020 by Sarah Elizabeth

    Holy cow! We came up from Arkansas...during the nation wide quarantine and even though we had to order carryout this place was phenomenal. I was extremely hesitant ordering anything but fast food (I'm super picky and I don't always trust restaurants to get my order right so fast food is a quick check and take it back) but these guys were phenomenal! Customer service, food, and the beer! I am a cheeseburger fanatic and this was the best burger I've had in my entire life! The burger was to die for, the fries were just as good and Christina was so patient and happy to answer all of my questions, I truly appreciated that. We will be back and Great Danes will be my go to restaurant/brewery from this point forward. Thank you guys for a fabulous experience!!

  • Mar 04, 2020

    Test

  • Mar 01, 2020 by Brandi W

    The food was excellent and the staff was very friendly. Nice place to play pool and socialize with people.

  • Feb 27, 2020 by Kent McDonell

    Our party of 30 strolled in late at night and even still the hosts did an excellent job of taking care of everyone.

    I had an excellent time playing pool upstairs, pretty much spent the whole night there :)

  • Jan 27, 2020 by Justine Marcelin

    Stopped in for dinner with my husband. Order the cup of potato soup, Kristina was our server and she had everything out to us right away. She was fantastic. Sat and chatted with us about the toast system they started using. Thank you for great service!!

  • Dec 10, 2019 by Megan Elmblad

    I was there for a party this past week. It was very obvious that the bartenders and servers were not impressed with the party overall. However, their frustration kept them from providing decent service to those that weren’t being obnoxious. I ordered an entree and wanted to eat it slowly as I mingled with friends. I still had over 2/3 of the food on my plate when a server came by and asked if I wanted a box. I said no and suddenly he was whisking my food away. I was so unimpressed. He didn’t even ask if I was finished. I stayed for a while longer for the sake of the party but left very unhappy. I had to eat a meal when I got home. Just more reason to not want to come to this establishment on my own volition. This same location is where my employers are holding their Christmas party and I think I might have to refrain.

  • Nov 23, 2019 by Gar Weber

    This pub was quite decent. The staff that helped me were all super friendly. The beer was just okay, but I ordered a tuna poke appetizer which was surprisingly good, and lamb carnitas tacos which were also pretty good. I was in the Madison area on work and will be back in a couple weeks. I'll almost certainly be returning to the Great Dane.

  • Sep 25, 2019 by Jamison Schleicher

    Typically pretty average. Would've been a 3/5 if not for recent experiences. Food is adequate. Beer, adequate. Service, adequate. Nothing bad and nothing exceptional. I frequented the Great Dane a decent amount, however, I've now had two bad experiences in recent months and I will not be going back any time soon.

    The most recent was unacceptable and is one of the worst things you can do as a restaurant. I ordered a chicken sandwich and it was completely raw (see pictures). It looks as if it was in the fryer for all of 30 seconds to brown the breading. I waited 10 minutes on hold to speak with a manager to give them a heads up to watch that cook better and voice my concern. Was told he was a new cook and they'd keep an eye on him. Was given a $15 GC which is whatever.

    The second one was simple, I ordered take out and made it all the way home before realizing my burger didn't come with fries. Kinda of strange but oh well. They did provide a $10 GC for it.

    Needless to say average food combined with simple errors means they need to get their stuff together before I go back.

  • Aug 29, 2019 by David Bradshaw

    Great place to go and get some drinks. Happy hour specials are awesome and they were always willing to make anything vegetarian when asked. Great service, great beer, an all around fun time

  • Aug 20, 2019 by Bart Hofkin

    A Madison staple, solid pub with great cheese curds and plenty of beers. A diverse menu as well with classics and always something new they're experimenting with. Plus the menus are posters so that's cool too. Overall nothing too fancy or special but it's consistent and there are multiple locations

  • Aug 18, 2019 by Isaac Asche

    Great staff and service. Good mood and ambiance. Rotating menu and drinks keep things new.

  • Aug 15, 2019 by Carri

    Crop Circle Wheat!

  • Aug 05, 2019 by Katie Carpenter

    In town for a few days and this place was great. Lots of beer on tap, mixed drinks, variety of food, great outdoor space and large bar.

  • Jul 27, 2019 by Kathryn Hargis

    The menu is diverse. They change the menu about twice a year, which can be fun because they bring in new entrees, but one of my favorite items is no longer served. My current go-to favorite is Tara's Chicken Sandwich, but there are many interesting dishes to try when I want to branch out. Most have been good, but a couple I wouldn't order again. The cheese curds are delicious and come with a very interesting sauce!

  • Jul 20, 2019

    Xxx

  • Jul 20, 2019

    Cxx

  • May 28, 2019 by Carmela Montenegro

    Food and beer was overpriced for the quality recieved. Tried 5 beers and all tasted watered down. The food was over $10 a plate and we ordered three dishes.
    The mac and cheese was bland but very creamy. The roasted cauliflower and brussel sprouts were too spicy to enjoy the vegetables.
    The only redeeming factor was the chicken and waffles. This earned them the 2 stars. Also, the waiter was nice.

    Otherwise, the menu descriptions were too fancy for what it was worth and the location was amazing. Everything else? Not so great.

  • May 21, 2019 by Ezekiel Juel

    Other locations have great service, this one not so much. could definitely use a bell at the front.

    Stood at the front for 10 minutes and nobody was there. Went and sat at the bar with my sisters and had immediate service. Then got told we couldn't be served because one of us was only 20.

    Eventually we had a server come to us at another table which kept us from leaving and giving a 1 star.

  • May 14, 2019 by Dorothea Reed

    I love the Great Dane been coming for years but the fact I walked in tonight and the bartender characterized the people I was with very disappointing and also the bartender started to talk about us to other customers which whom preceded to by me drinks cause of my birthday just passing he then tried to apologize cause the other bartender knew me. I’m very disappointed in the actions this person had.

  • Apr 23, 2019

    Test

  • Apr 06, 2019 by Keith Hopson

    Black bean burger was great. Our server was fantastic. Very cool atmosphere.

  • Apr 05, 2019 by Keith Hopson

    Black bean burger was great. Our server was fantastic. Very cool atmosphere.

  • Mar 28, 2019 by Peggy Ellis

    Tried the shredded pork sandwich for the first time. Couple chunks could have been a bit more shredded but that didn't stop me ftom eating the whole thing. Excellent BBQ sauce.

  • Mar 26, 2019 by Kathy Loniello

    I don't write very many reviews, but disappointed in the Fitchburg Great Dane. As soon as we walked in the door, for lunch today, the hostess told me that I couldn't bring in the coffee that I just bought. I had to put it back in my vehicle in 30 + degree temps, so that it could get cold. I've never been told by any other restaurant that I couldn't bring in my coffee. We never order soda at restaurants, only water for lunch. So, that didn't increase your sales and almost lost my business. Server was excellent. Then it went down hill. I ordered my burger well done, means no pick. My daughter ordered her burger medium well, means very slightly pink. Both of our burgers were completely charred, dried out and edges of burger were literally crunchy with a very burnt taste. Our buns were not toasted and actually felt like they came out of the refrigerator, which made the hamburgers get cold very quickly. One added note, disappointed in the down sized menu. Cottage Grove Great Dane is much better and offers a beautiful view of the Capitol.

  • Mar 23, 2019 by Tyler Keime

    What a great pub! This place has killer food, a bomb atmosphere, and a fantastic microbrewery to boot.

    Definitely a great place to be in more ways then one.

    Fantastic!

  • Mar 12, 2019 by R B

    Very good spot with the usual bar foods and a few twists. Great beers on tap and ok food. Nothing to complain about, but also not the best food/drinks in Madison.

  • Mar 09, 2019 by Brian Wohler

    I am a recent transplant to Fitchburg and Madison, and I have to say that The Great Dane Pub & Brewing Co. remind me of a favourite establishment back in Colorado. Service was excellent (Justin was fantastic!), food was delicious and piping hot when served, and the entire atmosphere was alive and well. I may have found the new staple for 'dinner out'.

  • Mar 02, 2019 by Mark Hady

    Went with a friend she had chicken pot pie, and said it was very good she watching liked the pretzel stick and applesauce that came with the meal. I forget the name of the entree I had. My entree had Tofou of which I am not a fan of but the rest of the meal was very good. I had a Toddy which was well made. I did not get the CBD added to the drink but it can be added for $2 if you are 18 years old. Our waitress was very nice and I noticed that the other waitresses were nice to their customers also.

  • Feb 24, 2019 by Mary Yang

    Love the brunch buffet. Its $17 a person but food selection is very good. If your like me and dont know what to get this is for you. Forsure will try again.

  • Feb 15, 2019 by Anita

    We go to Great Dane Pub every Friday. While most of the food is good, the New London fish meal is our favorite. The meal comes with haddock, dipped in pilsner beer batter and deep fried, french fries, coleslaw, tartar sauce, and malt vinegar for dipping the fries. For dessert we always have a scoop of the creamy dark rich Zanzabar ice cream. Service is always great, even in busy Friday nights. We find it best to arrive before 5pm so we don't have a wait. We also prefer the back dining area to the front noisy bar area. I am adding to this review and have posted more photos. In all honesty, we really don't like any of the entrees except the fried fish.....but, the fried fish is the very in Madison. We went to many, many restaurants trying to find the best fried fish and the Fitchburg Great Dane is definitely the winner.

  • Feb 04, 2019 by Ed Leung

    Was told to come for the cheese curds, definitely worth it. While not as good as some of the higher class establishments their cheese curds are very tasty, and their grilled cheese was fantastic. Service was accurate and quick.

  • Jan 27, 2019 by Ismail Umer

    Great experience last night with our large group - trevor did a great job handling our party's needs, getting us our orders promptly, and making us feel welcome. Greatly appreciate him and your staff. Will definitely be coming back in the future.

  • Jan 24, 2019 by Lizz Epp

    Great food, drinks and service! My friend's and I come here regularly and we have never been disappointed. The staff is engaging and friendly. Tables and facilities clean.

  • Dec 22, 2018 by Anita

    We go to Great Dane Pub every Friday. While most of the food is good, the New London fish meal is our favorite. The meal comes with haddock, dipped in pilsner beer batter and deep fried, french fries, coleslaw, tartar sauce, and malt vinegar for dipping the fries. For dessert we always have a scoop of the creamy dark rich Zanzabar ice cream. Service is always great, even in busy Friday nights. We find it best to arrive before 5pm so we don't have a wait. We also prefer the back dining area to the front noisy bar area.

  • Dec 19, 2018 by Jordyn Lawler

    I love the Great Dane. The menu selection is a bit unusual, you have your normal bar foods but with some different items too. Everything I’ve had has been fantastic and there’s something for everyone. My husband loves their beers, I don’t drink beer so can’t personally speak to that. It’s a huge restaurant with plenty of seating. The only downside to me is it is pricey and sometimes somewhat consistently our service has been slow.

  • Dec 09, 2018 by Sammamma

    Wonderful Sunday Brunch. The menu changes weekly and everything was delicious. Prime rib was perfectly seasoned and cooked. Staff was friendly and attentive. You can taste that all the selections were fresh and made in hiuse.

  • Nov 30, 2018 by Lori Madison

    Love their seasonal cocktails! The High Point Harvest Bowl was hearty and delicious (I added salmon). The portion was large and now I have lunch for tomorrow!

  • Nov 29, 2018 by william anderson

    Excellent food, service, and beer. Mid priced like most micro brewery restaurants, but the food was outstanding. Can be a little noisy because of the layout, and lots of people.

  • Nov 04, 2018 by Zach Feig

    Great beer selection. I got the cheese curds and the crispy chicken sliders. Solid choices all round

  • Oct 31, 2018 by Amanda Moser

    I moved out of WI a year ago and when I was back last week I had to stop by a Great Dane location for some Cheddar Mac. As usual it was delicious. We have a toddler and I was also impressed with their children's menu- lots of options and more than just chicken nuggets and pizza. But my husband got the buffalo chicken mac, which is his go-to dish there, and it was gross. The sauce was super watery and it had a weird flavor. Not sure if it was an off dish or if they changed the recipe in the past year. I noticed they did remove some of my other favorite items from their menu in recent months which was disappointing.

  • Oct 12, 2018 by Chris Bering

    Not real keen on the remodeling. But we hve fond memories of the Great Dane from our time in Madison. The menu is more or less the same, but feels like it is trying to cater to a more "upscale" client (as does the remodeling). I preferred the more "homey" appeal of the older version.

  • Oct 07, 2018 by Chris Spencer-Jones

    Very nice variety! Everything we had was very good. We will certainly be back!

  • Sep 19, 2018 by Kathryn G

    Since they changed the menu and took off many selections, it has been hard to find something to eat that I love from the new condensed menu. Please bring back the old menu or offer more selections. Until then, I'll stick to Thirsty Goat or Flying Hound.

  • Sep 01, 2018

  • Sep 01, 2018 by Amy

    Menu seems to have gotten a nice upgrade in the last year. Also they offer a lot of variety for kids

  • Aug 22, 2018 by Shaun Falk

    Great place. This is where I go to get a great Sunday Brunch. Good choice of beer as well. Update, recent buffet a few weeks back was sub par. They were doing construction as well on the entrance. The hollandaise sauce with the eggs benedict was rancid. Will be skipping for awhile until they improve.

  • Aug 17, 2018 by Joey

    Thursday Karaoke!

  • Aug 11, 2018 by Chuck Perce

    One of the best establishments in Madison! Outstanding in house - brewed beers of all styles. Great menu; you WILL find many dishes from which to choose -.appetizers, salads, soups, sandwiches, burgers and plates. THERE ARE NO NEGATIVES HERE!

  • Aug 08, 2018

  • Aug 08, 2018 by Tony n Amber Hernandez

    This French onion soup is amazing. Actually I have never been disapointed here with food! Hubby loves the beer selection!

  • Aug 02, 2018 by Arun Kumar

    Great place. Really good ambiance. Love the pool table on top. Little on the expensive side but the rest of amenities makes up for it.

  • Jul 12, 2018 by Rita Shimniok

    Always good food and service. Chicken wings are excellent. Flavorful which is more important than Heat but they have that as well.

  • Jul 08, 2018 by Tom Hammond

    My wife and I biked here after an ultimate frisbee game. I had my wallet and she did not. Even though neither of us were drinking they kicked us out and wouldn’t let us stay with the rest of the team.

    They also changed their cheese curd recipe and are not good anymore.

  • Jul 07, 2018 by Cassandra Kalinowski

    The last time I went to Great Dane in Fitchburg, my friend ordered the perch and got a fish bone lodged in the back of her throat. She ended up having to go the ER to get it removed. As the manager said, Perch will have some small bones, but this one was a 1/2 inch long and required a professional to have it removed. That's ridiculous.

  • Jun 30, 2018 by Laurie Witt

    the new menu is on point, we devoured our appetizer in no time and when our entrees arrived they did not disappoint. i went with the new bbq pulled pork sandwich, YUM CITY! They offer flights of beer which any beer lover will enjoy. They have one beer was called PD speed trap, I liked that. I hope in the future they offer the pickeled watermelon rind as a side instead of fries bc that was a fresh delight! The new look of the menu was refreshing as the B&W newspaper was getting dated. I liked the Great Dane before but I'm excited to go back to try the new items now. The service was a bit slow this visit, apps arrived a moment before main but it was Friday night, so to be expected.

  • Jun 12, 2018 by Katie Lemen

    Really enjoyed my meal and the atmosphere! Was visiting the area and our hotel was very close to this spot. The cheese curds were delicious. I got the spicy black bean burger for an entree- it was not spicy, but still pretty tasty.

  • Jun 09, 2018 by Abuela Mickey

    Called in advance; no reservation for small party of three. I explained that one member of party used a walker, and we'd appreciate being seated relatively quickly. I was told that anticipated wait time would be 10-15 minutes so instructed to arrive early (I did so, 12 minutes in advance of our preferred start time), and told a table within 20 feet of entrance door would be ours. After a 27 minute wait we were seated a good 60 feet from front door in a noisy room so the person had to wait, walk a good distance, and had difficulty hearing. Hence, good spot if you are not disabled or elderly. Won't return with that group again despite a delicious fish fry.

  • May 19, 2018 by Isaac O'Malley - Laursen

    Took awhile to get a table even though they said only a 5-10 minute wait. Food always decent. Most of staff is good. Good beers

  • May 16, 2018

  • May 11, 2018 by Joy Meyer

    Great lunchtime waitress. Drinks never below half empty. Food delicious per usual. Currently on keto, not the most appetizing picture but the macros weren't awful. 1083 calories. 82g fats. 71g protein. 11 carbs.

  • Apr 27, 2018 by Damian Gouff

    Haven't had many beers here, usually lunch while on business. Really like the atmosphere and great service. Food is always good.

  • Apr 27, 2018 by Chris Wiederhold

    The ribeye steak was well cooked as well as the asparagus. The portion of steak fries was a little lacking. The atmosphere is nice and the service was great.

  • Apr 20, 2018 by Mark Porter

    Always astonishingly busy, but with good beer, good food and good staff. Typical pub fare but well made, generous portions and tasty!! Brunch is amazing, almost too much! Outside area is nice in summer.

  • Apr 06, 2018 by Jeff Johnson

    Went there for easter brunch. When making the reservation, they said they would give the table away if we were more than 10 minutes late. We were there early and waited about 45 minutes to be seated. Food was relatively good as far as a buffet goes.

  • Mar 23, 2018 by Patrick Jost

    Great place for a group or by yourself. Good beer. Nice happy hour prices! Great food!

  • Mar 11, 2018 by ryan r

    Always great service and amazing food! I'm not a drinker but have tried samples of their beer and it was good too

  • Mar 11, 2018 by Libbi

    Absolutely terrible experience! We were there at a not busy time and waited 45 minutes for food to come out. When it finally arrived most of the meals were cold, the waitress was gracious enough to take them back and quickly warm them up in the microwave. The floor manager then came amd argued with us that we had not waited 45 minutes but only 20 as it took our waitress that long to put the order into the system. The pretzel breadsticks were rock hard too! What a way to ruin a birthday celebration! Would not recommend!

  • Feb 25, 2018 by Zecariah

    The food was decent. More or less what I expected at a brewery. The decor of the establishment possibly my favorite part. Low light. Lots of wood and cozy booth seats. Also a display of vats lit by a warm red light. Hip and modern. 4/5!

  • Feb 13, 2018 by Kay Cat

    Great food friendly staff. I definitely suggest getting the chocolate brownie. So GOOD

  • Feb 05, 2018

    Good

  • Feb 05, 2018

    Good

  • Jan 28, 2018 by Matthew Shutvet

    Been here probably a handful of times, decent food and portion size. Friendly staff and atmosphere. Not the best restaurant group/brand in Madison. But a solid later dinner spot since they serve a full menu until 11pm. Unfortunately many area restaurants seem to think 8, 9 or 10 pm is closing time on a Friday or Saturday night.

    Fish fry is the best thing on the menu! Period.

  • Jan 13, 2018 by Venessa Nurmi

    Good service. Waiter was quick & friendly. Food was mediocre. One of many places that don't know how to cook a burger.

  • Jan 10, 2018 by Teddy Kaul

    I go to the Great Dane regularly. The combination of a nice variety of quality food items, coupled with the very competitive prices they offer for their meals, makes this an excellent choice for lunch or dinner. They also do a really great brunch on the weekends but that's pricier. Very high quality, but more expensive than their regular menu.

    If you like craft microbrewed beer, they also have a nice selection of those to pick from. My favorite is the Oatmeal Stout in Fitchburg. My second favorite is their Emerald Isle Stout at the downtown location. Some other very popular beers are their Scotch Ale, APA, and Crop Circle Wheat.

    The Great Dane has tasty vegetarian options despite being well known for their burgers. I also think their wings are some of the best in town. (I go with their 3 alarm sauce which is spicy but still mild enough for someone who likes a little spice in their meals.) Their fish tacos are very popular, too. (I could go on and on with popular food items.)

    I highly recommend giving it a try if you are nearby.

  • Jan 06, 2018 by Ben Freeman

    Was pretty busy and we had to sit upstairs in the bar area there, but we got service pretty much immediately. Great service too. Food came out unbelievably fast and was as good as always.

  • Dec 26, 2017 by Amy S

    I actually really like this place. The food is normally very good pub food and the servers have always been wonderful.

    However, we went on Christmas 2017 and I, a very obviously pregnant woman's, was seated right next to a table that they were allowing the party next to me to Vape (smoke e-cigs). The smell was overwhelming and I ended up leaving nauseous and with a migraine starting. The server and manager walked by multiple times as they were doing it and no one said anything. They were also extremely loud and drunk playing a game of dice and literally slamming the did cup down for every roll.

    Look, I don't really care if they allow this sort of behavior (despite smoking anything inside being clearly labeled as a no go on all the doors) but don't seat pregnant women next to the people you are letting smoke inside.

    This ruined the Dane for me and I can't see myself going back which is sad because I usually go once a week.

  • Dec 18, 2017

    So good

  • Dec 16, 2017 by Matthew

    Beer is decent and food isn’t bad. Good space with lots of tvs

  • Dec 16, 2017

    This is a test

  • Dec 06, 2017 by Brittny Blackwood

    I've been here several times and have had a different meal every time. I have never been disappointed! :)

  • Nov 26, 2017 by Matt Wahoske

    While this Great Dane location offers the usual array of comfort food staples (meatloaf, pot pies, chili, burgers, etc, I just don't find the food at all compelling. The quality of their beer also falls short of the other local breweries. I do appreciate the attentive service, especially when I visit with a large group of co-workers. Plus, the large size of the venue means a table is always available.

  • Nov 25, 2017 by Todd Bussan

    Food was pretty good. Servings/portions were average. Good atmosphere and out server Chandler was very knowledgeable and courteous. We'll be back to try something new. Also, the beer is all made here so no domestics

  • Oct 29, 2017 by Angel Ulven

    Large selection to choose from. Large portions at reasonable prices. Good wait staff. Gave a four because bathroom is tiny no toilet tissue in one stall and no paper towel to dry your hands

  • Oct 12, 2017 by Angie Kuhlman

    Service was a little slow, but friendly. Food and beer are excellent! Atmosphere is nice and relaxed.

  • Oct 12, 2017 by Jenelle Evans

    Really impressed with this pub! The beer was great and food was delicious as well! I would highly recommend the Mac and cheese! So great! Also is in walking distance of hotels in the area, making a super convenient place to go. Would definitely come back when I am in the area again!

  • Oct 08, 2017 by Daniel Gazdziak

    It's our third time there. We had a great meal and their drinks are good too. Each time we've had something different, but our opinion hasn't changed. It's GREAT.

  • Sep 30, 2017 by Erich Utrie

    Great food, atmosphere and service!

  • Sep 17, 2017 by John Berryman

    Not impressed at all. We were a group of eight senior citizens and are more comfortable at a table and we asked for a table They put us at a booth anyway. The service was good. The food left a lot to be desired. The Chicken Wings were dry and sorta like chewing on an old bicycle inner tube that had been breaded. My wife had the French dip sandwich. it had some horrible sauce on it. She couldn't eat her sandwich until after she scraped the sauce off of it. Myself and two of the others had the chicken pot pie. They were a little dry but I did eventually find a piece of chicken in mine. I've been here 4 times in the last 10 years. Never would I recommend this place! Four trips and four disappointing meals. Perhaps if we had been drinking we wouldn't have noticed the poor food so much?

  • Sep 17, 2017 by John Berryman

    Not impressed at all. We were a group of eight senior citizens and are more comfortable at a table. So, they put us at a booth anyway. The service was good. The food left a lot to be desired. I've been here 4 times in the last 10 years. Never would I recommend this place!

  • Aug 08, 2017 by Daniel Smedema

    Beer, food, atmosphere all excellent. Friendly servers. They sponsor the local ultimate Frisbee league, so summer weeknights the outdoor space typically fills up, but they have plenty of indoor seating.

  • Aug 06, 2017 by Jennie Steil

    Sunday brunch is so good! We had 9 ppl with 3 boys 6 and under they gave us the upstairs area to ourselves. It worked out perfectly!

  • Jul 20, 2017 by Jason D Robinson

    Good beer, good food, good service. Like this place.

    But if you are in a wheelchair, it is problematic.

    The bar doesn't have any wheelchair height tables. The second floor has no access at all. Many of the dining tables are booths and the tables so tightly packed that you are stuck work sitting on an 'end' sticking into the aisle in most cases.

  • Jul 15, 2017

    Love it

  • Jul 14, 2017 by Jeremy Maritz

    Big fan; very little I would change.

    All the beers are made in house and the food is pretty great.

    It's simple, it's good, it's not over priced. Can't think of anywhere around here that would stand out above the Dane.

  • Jul 10, 2017

    Fgh

  • Jul 07, 2017 by chris rufenacht

    Food was just OK, my drink was mostly melted ice cubes, server was fantastic but won't be back for food again.

  • Jul 04, 2017 by Amy Good

    Great Dane is a go-to favorite, especially with a group of people. The menu has a great range of options, including pub standbys like burgers, comfort food like chicken pot pies, salads, soup, noodle bowls, and much more. Food is extremely consistent and service usually spot-on and attentive. The Sunday Brunch is amazing, with some menu favorites and others only available on Sundays.

  • Jun 16, 2017 by Randy Lambrecht

    Very nice restaurant when it isn't really busy. It gets loud. Service today was excellent. Sat outside, and it was beautiful. I had the Reuben which was really good. I love their fries. Their burgers are 6 or 7 on 10 scale. I like their beer quite a bit, but couldn't have any today, I was on lunch.

  • Jun 09, 2017 by Dustin Thalman

    Great service, friendly staff, awesome food.

  • Jun 09, 2017 by Teddy Kaul

    I go to the Great Dane regularly. The combination of a nice variety of quality food items, coupled with the very competitive prices they offer for their meals, makes this an excellent choice for lunch or dinner. They also do a really great brunch on the weekends but that's pricier. Very high quality, but more expensive than their regular menu.

    If you like craft microbrewed beer, they also have a nice selection of those to pick from. My favorite is there Oatmeal Stout in Fitchburg. My second favorite is their Emerald Isle Stout at the downtown location. Some other very popular beers are their Scotch Ale, APA, and Crop Circle Wheat.

    The Great Dane has tasty vegetarian options despite being well known for their burgers. I also think their wings are some of the best in town. (I go with their 3 alarm sauce which is spicy but still mild enough for someone who likes a little spice in their meals.) Their fish tacos are very popular, too. (I could go on and on with popular food items.)

    I highly recommend giving it a try if you are nearby.

  • Jun 08, 2017 by Angela Tolsma

    Always great food and drinks. Staff are excellent and knowledgeable on beers.

  • Jun 03, 2017 by Doulie Underwood

    Nice atmosphere bartender/server was really nice good food

  • May 18, 2017 by Shaun Falk

    Great place. This is where I go to get a great Sunday Brunch. Good choice of beer as well.

  • May 18, 2017 by Jared Wold

    Stuffing!

    I visit this Great Dane location for two main reasons - my mom lives a block away and their Sunday brunch buffet! The brunch is stocked with just about everything you can imagine eating. There is a full salad and fruit bar (plus smoked salmon), all usual breakfast foods, fried fish of some type, taco bar, omelette station, meat carving station (prime rib and ham), dessert table (cheesecakes, french silk pie, etc.), and numerous lunch and dinner dishes. My favorites are the stuffing (I'm a stuffing addict) and the cheesy hash browns (basically scalloped potatoes in hash brown form).

    On the occasions I come here for other meals, I usually get the Tara's Cajun Chicken Sandwich, a cajun seasoned butterflied chicken breast on a kaiser roll with lettuce, tomato, and red onion. It is accompanied by the most delicious chipotle mayo you'll ever taste. I usually substitute fries for the West African Peanut Stew - chicken, peanuts, and rice in a tangy tomato gravy.

    Servers are usually attentive and efficient, and drinks are usually strong if not slightly overpriced. If you are planning on watching sporting events, there are plenty of TVs scattered about.

  • May 03, 2017 by Tyler Blodgett

    I love this place. Great beer, bartenders and food.

  • Apr 08, 2017 by Brian McNurlen

    Everybody in our family is happy when we come here. Kids meals are priced appropriately.

  • Apr 07, 2017 by Chris Corbett

    Love this place. When guests are in from out to town this is always our go to place. The beer and Mac and Cheese are always winners.

  • Apr 02, 2017 by Azeebo Momo

    Must try for travelers coming through Wisconsin. Beer is solid, food is good. Outside drinking in the better months.

  • Mar 30, 2017 by Russell Fell

    Great food, good service, friendly staff. Beer to pricey though.

  • Mar 02, 2017 by Benjamin Winninger

    Price was in-line. The service was outstanding. I wish I could remember their names. I sat at the bar and the bartenders were a man and a woman. They were very knowledgeable. They let me try the beers before I committed to the Irish beer. They built the irish beers correctly however they did not put a Shamrock in the foam. I asked the bartender man for his recommendations on food. He gave me five good options but they insisted I try smothered fried chicken. A a waiter walked behind me and also called out smothered fried chicken. So I went for it. When the dish arrived , it was so beautiful I almost cried. I hate the word Fusion , but this dish was a fusion of English Irish , Cajun, Mexican , Southern American fried incredible-ness. To make my food orgasm even stronger they added artichoke hearts. I found it hard to hide my emotions. My mouth watering uncontrollably before each bite. My limbs completely numb. Between each bite I drink to cleanse my palate with this wonderful smooth Irish beer. I will dream of this night forever. I love you Great Dane.

  • Feb 23, 2017 by Eric Breitbach

    A little pricier than I was expecting when I walked in the door but the food was good non-the-less. Service was good, not too distant, but not in your face every 3 minutes.

  • Jan 16, 2017 by Lidija Kapelec

    We had a party in the upstairs lounge and it was great! The staff was very helpful, food was delicious and everything else worked out great. The only downside is that they don't have a bathroom upstairs.

  • Jan 14, 2017 by Amanda Piskor

    Delicious food & excellent service. We were there with a kids hockey team and their families - staff never missed a beat! Would absolutely recommend this place!

  • Jan 07, 2017 by Brian James

    Ordered a Reuben and have no idea what the meat was. Definitely not pastrami or corned beef. Tasted like old roast beef that was cut extremely thin. Worst sandwich ever and could not even eat the other half it. Simply gross.

  • Jan 01, 2017 by Brent Bankes

    Good experience. Food and service were perfect. Could stand to update chairs, tables, etc. The place is starting to show its age. This place is a go to for great service, beer, and pub food.

  • Dec 22, 2016

    Test

  • Dec 22, 2016

    Test

  • Oct 22, 2016 by Regina Elliott

    You can be seated not in view of a tv, good if you have easily distracted children. The children's menu has a couple items not on others, like the Build Your Own Nachos. I tried the German Sausage Plate and paired it with their German Pilsner, excellent together. It is a little pricier, but worth it.

  • Oct 18, 2016 by Azad Lassiter

    The great dane is a staple in madison. It has a large capacity and can handle groups a bit better than anything downtown. the food and menu are great. The cream soda, root beer, and ginger ale are all made in house and are great.

  • Oct 11, 2016 by Brittney Schultz

    Fine food, better beer. They practically never change their menu, but their sunday brunch is AWESOME. It is the same on holidays as it is any other sunday and is really great and worth going to!

  • Oct 10, 2016 by steven owen

    No Stars but google wont allow that, Food is crap, everything was over cooked, service was ok. plates and flatware had dents and water marks, overall it felt dirty inside.

  • Sep 08, 2016 by Jenna Hanson

    The Great Dane is a quintessential Madison brew pub. The menu is diverse and most of it is good. Burgers are great & beer is better. The Fitchburg location is actually my favorite Great Dane in Madison (not a fan of Hilldale or the East Side locations).

  • Jul 12, 2016 by Alexandra McNeill

    Huge, lots of tables and bar area. Service is very prompt. Food portions are big!

  • Jul 03, 2016 by Paul Baeseman

    One great place with a great atmosphere. I ordered the cheese curds and sweet potato fries and they were good. I also got a burger (a little overcooked but still great). I will come to the Dane more of it wasn't a little pricy. Thanls

  • Jul 02, 2016 by jonathan garcia

    the food and the beer is always great at this place! I was here yesterday and the server was amazing! (her name was Ally) Great customer service, always checking on our table, great attitude, efficient, great smile and very friendly. I work on the restaurant business too and employee like her make people going back over and over so you guys are so lucky to have her on your team. thank you I will definitive be back soon!

  • Jun 29, 2016 by Ryan Putz

    This is probably one of my favorite brewpub locations in the greater Madison area. This building has a wonderful design and aesthetic to it that promotes a refined cozy atmosphere. Food and drink selections here are *fantastic*. Great place for work outings, social gatherings, dates, or just going out for a bite and a beer!

  • Jun 26, 2016 by Katherine

    Sunday Brunch is the best

  • Jun 25, 2016 by Otto Khamphouy

    Always enjoy their beer. Server was fairly attentive, except while serving food for our group, she held the dish high enough to get her hair in the food for someone in our group. Food was not the greatest: I got 3 piece walleye which was basically one small filled they cut twice, and the "brownie" dessert was basically a dry piece of cake with ice cream on top.

  • Jun 24, 2016 by Miguel Galvez

    Great selection of speciality beer, good bar food and nice ambiance. Desserts are not that great. Overall a good experience.

  • Jun 22, 2016

  • Jun 11, 2016 by Kathi

    The cheddar Mac and cheese is the bomb.

  • Jun 10, 2016 by Jonathon Puhalla

    The food is good, but the service we received was slow. Our waitress though was attentive and it was clear the problems were coming from the kitchen.

  • Jun 08, 2016 by Emily Fuger

    The Fitchburg Dane is one of the better Great Danes. Good Service puts it above the downtown location for sure. Food is good enough, though very light on healthy options. Pretty average Wisconsin-style fare with plenty of vegetarian options.

  • Mar 09, 2016 by Jonah Conner

    Very wide range of a menu, and it is all good. I have been there at least 10 times and have tried everything from fish and burgers to salad and hummus.

  • Feb 29, 2016 by Brad Petroff

    Worst experience of my life! My wife, 2 year old son and I went here for dinner on Saturday. Everything was fine until we started to eat our food. There was a steel screw in my sons french fries. He is 2 year old and puts everything in his mouth so you can understand our horror! The server was very concerned and grabbed the food right away. We had expected to have the manager come right out and speak with us, 15 minutes later she showed up, apologized and gave us a small gift card to come back yet still made us pay for the meal. The apology was very insincere and the staff was just terrible. We will never be going back and I will be letting anyone and everyone know about this terrible experience! If I could give less than 1 star I would!

  • Dec 12, 2015 by Joshua Young

    Great environment, good beer, very friendly staff. Rachel was our waitress and she was awesome. Food is also very good.

  • Dec 09, 2015 by Chloe Joy

    One of the worst dining experiences I've ever had. While I am aware the quality and consistency of The Great Dane restaurants have been in decline the last few years the dish I had this evening was exceptionally bad. I had the shrimp and pork belly pasta, and just about every element of the dish had issues. The shrimp was overcooked, the pasta was slightly overcooked, the garlic bread was slightly undercooked, however while I can accept a few flaws in a dish, what was done to the pork belly was criminal, it was so hard, tough and overcooked it was borderline inedible, in fact I ended up picking it out of the dish because it was so bad. As our waitress never came back to ask how our meal was after serving us I was unable to inform her of the poor quality of the dish until she came to take away our plates, at which time I did inform her and advised her to inform the management or the kitchen as to the poor state of the dish, however I feel she did not care or relay my critique. As I did not want another diner to suffer through the same dish I was served I also informed the hostess on my way out, but she did not seem to care either. Perhaps that is why their food and service is suffering, they have a staff that just doesn't care? Needless to say this will most likely be the last meal my friends and I have at The Great Dane, we'll just go to Vintage where the quality of the food and service is exceptionally better. I actually ended up with a small case of food poisoning last night from the food.

  • Sep 07, 2015 by Victor Hollo

    Average pub fare. Not great, not awful.

  • Jul 15, 2015 by Natalie Quinn

    Great food and beer! The beer bread and honey butter rocked! The potato and bacon soup was so yummy! Had a sampler of 6 beers, which were all very refreshing. The service was good. They have outdoor patio seating with a bar. Can't wait to go back on my next trip to Madison and try more!

  • Apr 09, 2015 by Jeff

    Good food great beer and great people.Fun place

  • Mar 20, 2015 by Cathie

    Brew all their own beer; good food, too!

  • Jan 18, 2015 by Trevor Fink

    The Dane has consistently good service, food and beer. I've never left disappointed and find myself coming back again and again.

    Try the Chipotle Chicken Quesadillas!

  • Jan 04, 2015 by Dave

    Tara Cajun Chicken sandwich is great but the chicken keeps getting smaller and smaller.

  • Nov 10, 2014 by Gerrit

    The Sunday brunch is wonderful.

  • Sep 28, 2014 by Jessie

    Great menu. Cozy atmosphere.

  • Sep 09, 2014 by Keighley

    Sunday brunch

  • Aug 22, 2014 by Tim

    The Friday fish fry is great!

  • Aug 16, 2014 by Tracy

    Everything!

  • Jul 25, 2014 by August

    Texarkana burger. Can't go wrong, matches up with all their brews!

  • May 22, 2014 by Alex

    Good craft brews.

  • May 11, 2014 by Haya

    Worst place ever. Their $30 brunch and $9 bloodies are NOT worth it! Service was fine but there's really no reason to come here. Way too overpriced for low quality food/drinks.

  • Apr 30, 2014 by Robert Johnson

    A Brew Pub. Being a home brewer I always try and visit establishments that craft their own beers and the Great Dane does not disappoint. Staff was welcoming and accommodating to our group. We were seated and addressed quickly where I ordered up an Old Glory American Pale Ale which I found very good. Ordered the German Sausage plate for dinner and just had to have the Dunkelweizen to round it out. Not only was the meal very good but the beer was on target for it's style. If your in the Madison area, a stop at the Great Dane needs to be on your list.

  • Apr 08, 2014 by Christopher

    They make their own ginger ale and it is actually quite awesome.

  • Dec 31, 2013 by Doug

    Great selection of beers.

  • Dec 29, 2013 by Matt

    Chipotle Quesadilla

  • Dec 19, 2013 by Cydogg

    Mmmm tasty food. Fast service on a Wednesday at 6pm. Had the pretzyl burger with a burger and a brat patty stacked on or some such wisco nonsense. It was good. Great scotch ale as well. 9/10 and would return.

  • Dec 18, 2013 by Bill

    The Brat and Bacon Pretzel Burger is phenomenal!

  • Sep 28, 2013 by Allan

    The Drunken Jerk is a great meal. The pork wrapped in banana leaves is perfectly seasoned and the fried plantains are tasty sweat. Lastly, the green beans are always fresh even out of season.

  • Sep 16, 2013 by Jonathan

    Mmmm... Cheese Curds!

  • Jul 07, 2013 by Neal

    Fitchburg location is much better than Hilldale.

  • May 04, 2013 by Guillermo

    Come out and enjoy our Mexican party. Happy 4 de Mayo!

  • Apr 23, 2013 by Corey Ross

    A contender. I got here about 11am so it was def time for a bloody and bloody is was. One one the better bloodies in town. Nice and thick with just enough kick and a nice amount of greens to go with. I also decided to have a burger. I can't remember the name, but it came on a jalapeno bun with fresh cooked apple wood bacon and it even had a chipotle cream cheese in it. The burger itself was cooked to perfection and seasoned perfectly. The meat itself was not frozen and of good quality. I can't wait to work in Fitchburg again so I can stop here again.

  • Mar 18, 2013 by Mike

    Getcha some Old Glory. It's delicious.

  • Mar 11, 2013 by Kaedi

    Crop Circle Wheat is my favorite beer, and goes well with the Chicken Croissant Sandwich!

  • Mar 09, 2013 by Tom

    Philly steak sand.

  • Mar 09, 2013 by Tom

    Curds. Great

  • Dec 02, 2012 by MANDO

    Cheese curds are AWESOME!!

  • Dec 02, 2012 by Tricia

    Great chicken pot pie, macaroni and cheese, and margherita pizza. Try what's on tap!

  • Nov 04, 2012 by Jessie

    Awesome portabella sandwich. Great with steamed vegetables!

  • Oct 15, 2012 by Neysan

    Try the New Mexico Green Chili - #awesome #spicy green chili goodness

  • Sep 17, 2012 by Chris

    Great beer bread!

  • Aug 14, 2012 by Thomas

    Somewhat overrated. Good place to go if you're staying at the hotel across the street or you have guests from out of town. No smoking in Madison or Fitchburg. Downtown location has better atmosphere.

  • Jul 09, 2012 by Carly F

    I have never had a bad meal here, or even an "ok" meal - every one has been wonderful.

  • Jun 24, 2012 by Joshua Hockett

    Great Dane Hits on all 3. This past Saturday evening I made my way out to Fitchburg after having read some online reviews on Yelp.com and Urbanspoon.com and several of the hit items the Great Dane serves up. I even found some images on the net that really sold me on making a stop this past weekend to indulge myself in a classic burger that offered something different at the same time. Lets not forget that el fresco dining options never hurts either. At the Great Dane in Fitchburg, you get all that and then some. So let me walk you through the descriptive, visual and sensory pathway that was my “eat feat” for this weekend. Arriving at around 7pm I took the option to sit out at the bar in the “Garden Dining” section of the restaurant which I found fairly busy but not overcrowded either. I grabbed a seat and was quickly given attention by one of the bartenders who then kept close tabs on me during my whole stay. Having already seen the online menu I was pretty sure on what I was going to get for an app and entree but dessert still escaped me as no dessert menu was or is listed on the main menu. That I would have to wait and see on. Appetizer($5.50): Brown Ale French Onion Soup This is the real deal when it comes to French Onion Soup! Great flavor, amazing aroma, a thick slice of melted bubbly cheese and then a thick slice of french bread underneath with ample soft, moist, chopped onions to seal the deal. Comes with 2 small whole wheat rolls to dip in and soak up the broth to! Burger Entree ($10.50) + $1.00 for sweet potato fries as my side The Great Dane’s Brat and Bacon Pretzel Burger This burger is certainly what I needed. A classic burger yet something a bit different and not so basic. The pretzel bun all on its own may be to blame for this as its my first exposure to it but even the brat-burger dynamic may have played in, or maybe the bacon-burger-brat did it, or maybe the cheddar cheese-bacon-burger-brat combo to blame?? Who knows and who cares! It was darn good either way! It comes with Pecks Pilsner Mustard which I was quite liberal with to say the least as its a personal favorite condiment of mine so I was sure to see that nothing here was going to waste. Others should be forewarned....this burger is big and despite the bun and its hard pretzel covering to help support the mass of goodness inside, your going to get a little messy trying to eat this whole, even with two hands. Cut this monster in half and then you stand a fighting chance of keeping your hands from the onslaught I encountered (but so worth it!) The additional $1 for sweet potato fries was very well worth it! Warm, crisp and fresh with that smell and taste of real cut sweet potatoes is what I wanted and that is just what I got. A great companion to go with the taste of the burger! I shall note that sweet tater fries are my all time favorite side dish to any burger period, kudos to The Great Dane for offering this option! Not despite my initial feelings of being full, my curiosity for the dessert menu was still getting the best of me. At about that time my peppy, friendly and very attentive bartender (female who’s name I never did catch) asked me if I would like to see the dessert menu.....I instantly obliged! It took me all but 10 seconds to see the very first item listed was Carrot Cake. My #1 pick for any dessert item anywhere. That said I never even looked at the other 4-5 items listed on the menu, it was a sealed deal when I saw my go-to items listed at the top. More so when it says “4 layer” within the subtitle. I took a chance in hopes this would be a spot on hit as many places in the past have sub par versions of “homemade” carrot cake which leaves me not so happy to say the least. On this occasion, my taste buds nor my stomach left displeased as this was a pure HIT on all levels. Dessert ($5.25) Carrot Cake Authentic cream cheese frosting, moist layers of cake with real carrot flakes and walnuts. I really took my time to let my taste buds bask in the depth, the richness, the melding flavors of what each bite of real carrot cake is supposed to offer its consumer. Its a darn good thing they serve this by the slice because people like me would have the whole cake gone otherwise. So in summary, my bill which totaled just over $26 (with drink) was well worth the food quality, quantity, the service, the outdoor dining atmosphere (even took in 5 innings of the sox/brewers game). I have to admit that during my hour stay I really got the feeling that the waitstaff enjoyed working there. They all seemed happy, energetic, lively and social to each other and the customers at all times. Makes you think its not only a good place to eat but also a all round good place to be on any occasion as well. In my case I come for the food, tonight I was very pleased and must give a strong recommendation for others to give a go with these food items and any others like it. If you find yourself bored and hungry on a Saturday evening, I found your solution right here.

  • Jun 22, 2012 by Julie

    Don't get the margherita pizza! Just don't do it!

  • Apr 28, 2012 by Joe

    Buffalo mac and cheese is carb heaven. Total comfort food.

  • Apr 20, 2012 by Bradley

    Enjoy the beast... Brat and Bacon pretzel burger!!

  • Apr 14, 2012 by Nic

    Great Dane Burger is a favorite!

  • Apr 07, 2012 by David Williams

    Great beer, cheese curds and pretzel brat burger. Way too much food for one, but makes a great late night snack. Service was spot on even for a busy Friday night.

  • Mar 11, 2012 by BJ

    Haven't had a bad beer here yet, try a flight if you can't choose!

  • Mar 08, 2012 by Travis

    If you're hungry here, have a drink. Hungry? Have sum food. Cold outside, come in for heat. Warm? Come in for cool. Walls need more dead moose heads.

  • Feb 15, 2012 by Lynda

    Baby back ribs were awesome! Lots of meat, tender and hull of smoky barbecue flavor! YUM....

  • Feb 12, 2012 by Elizabeth

    Best black and tan brownie in madison!!!

  • Jan 08, 2012 by Jordan

    You need the inner warmth peanut stew. In your mouth. Now.

  • Dec 30, 2011 by Keith and Kinsey Real Estate

    The Buffalo Mac and Cheese is incredible!

  • Dec 12, 2011 by Emily

    Good beer. Decent food. Stumbling distance from home.

  • Nov 21, 2011 by Jeff Foster

    Excellent!. Had lunch here 3 times in 4 days while traveling. If I lived here, this would be one of my regular spots. Great drinks - plenty of in house beers as well as house root beer, cream soda and ginger ale. Some favorites - the pretzels with cranberry mustard (spicy!), buffalo chicken mac n cheese, the Dane burger - all very well put together and tasty. Huge place with a lot of staff and customers each day. Attentive, quick service. Food always delivered correctly by friendly staff. Don't miss the Great Dane Pub!

  • Nov 10, 2011 by Jake

    Okay place. Good beet

  • Oct 15, 2011 by Sheri

    Southwest Tortellini is my favorite. Drunken Jerk is my next favorite.

  • Sep 21, 2011 by Rusty

    The cask conditioned ales are really the way to go. Too bad they are only available downtown.

  • Sep 08, 2011 by -

    I've been here a few times and always found excellent service, great and interesting food and great beer made here. I've only tried their iipa and scotch ale, but both were really quite good. I've eaten a pulled pork sandwich - decent, grassburger-excellent, cedar salmon-excellent, and a pizza w/ steak and gorgonzola. Awesome. Always finish with the beer ice cream. Always.

  • Jun 22, 2011 by Doug

    Not selling MillerCoors to protest beer distribution provisions in the state budget!

  • Jun 17, 2011 by Keith and Kinsey Real Estate

    My wife and I met there. Great place! Try the Brat and Bacon Pretzel Burger, and the Oatmeal Stout.

  • May 31, 2011 by Tony

    Great bar!...If you like a lil spice in your bloody mary you should get one

  • Apr 21, 2011 by Tina C

    Love It!. I love going here for dinner. The California Turkey Club is amazing! That's not the only good thing on the menu, though. I have yet to order anything here that I didn't care for. The prices are right and the service and atmosphere is great. If you have room, try the Chocolate Bourbon Peacon Pie - but make sure you share it with someone else because the portion sizes are -very- big.

  • Mar 16, 2011 by H

    No more buzz time!

  • Mar 13, 2011 by Rachel Snethen

    Mmmm....PIZZA!!. Next time you go there, try the bacon mac & cheese pizza. Totally to die for. They never fail to impress!

  • Feb 18, 2011 by Chandler

    Holly D makes one MEAN bloody mary!!!

  • Feb 15, 2011 by Rachelle

    Love the cheese curds!

  • Dec 14, 2010 by Chandler

    The velvet hammer is hittin!

  • Nov 14, 2010 by Roxanne

    artichoke dip bread bowl is the bomb

  • Sep 11, 2010 by Holly

    Working tonight, come visit me!! Best beer in town!

  • Aug 20, 2010 by Daniel

    it's busy. look for the models of Abercrombie & Fitch tonight. we are here in full force. Daniel McCluskey & Farhat Amiri.

  • Jul 14, 2010 by Leah

    Side of onion rings is GINORMOUS!!

  • Jun 28, 2010 by Lindsay

    The cream of baked potato soup is amazing.

  • May 31, 2010 by Sherri

    fun place to grab a drink or shoot pool after work

  • May 27, 2010 by Leah

    Half order of nachos is tons of food for not much money. Good choice if you're hungry, but don't have much cash!

  • Feb 25, 2010 by Ryan

    Free WiFi. I consider it my "home office"

  • Jan 27, 2010 by Ryan

    Play BuzzTime upstairs for hours of drinking entertainment.

  • Sep 09, 2009 by Jennifer B

    I recently took my parents to this location of the Great Dane and we all had a great time! Everyone enjoyed their meal and there was plenty of seating so we only waited about 5 minutes on a Saturday night at about 630pm. I'm never…

  • Nov 26, 2006 by A R

    This is a suburban incarnation of a downtown madison favorite. Not as hip, but bigger, quieter and little tamer than the one near the campus, the capitol, and the courthouse. Still the same great microbrewed beers. Plenty of parking, too,…

  • Mar 21, 2006 by Laura W.

    The Dane is one of my favorite restaurants in Madison. Every time we come back into town we inevitably stop here for a beer and then end up staying for food. My favorite is the cheesy artichoke dip (sometimes I get it for my meal!). …